

Leanna Zwiebel is the associate editor of Connecticut Lawyer magazine as well as the communications

and editorial associate at the Connecticut Bar Association.



# Impressive Honorees Inspire the Legal Community

By Leanna Zwiebel

Nearly 400 guests were in attendance at the April 13 event held at the Aqua Turf Club in Plantsville. The evening began with cocktails, a local craft beer tasting, and hors d'oeuvres.

At the start of the program, attendees heard from State Senator Richard Blumenthal who not only congratulated this year's awardees, but also thanked the judges of Connecticut, and of the nation, for their advocacy for legal services, stating, "When the history of this time is written, I guarantee it will be one of the finest hours of our judiciary in the state of Connecticut and our nation."

The program began with the Half-Century Awards, given to members of the bar admitted in 1967.

Kicking-off the awards presentation was The Honorable Anthony V. DeMayo Pro Bono Award. The award's namesake, Judge DeMayo, was passionate about the law and unwavering in his support of legal services for the needy. The winners of this year's awards, as selected by the Pro Bono Committee, not only exhibit commitment and dedication to pro bono service, but also serve as role models for the profession. Video testimonials were played for each award winner to give the audience members a better sense of who they are and their dedication to their work.

Next, the Secretary of the State Denise Merrill, who congratulated awardees, naming them "the best of our profession, compassionate, and people who are committed to the rule of law," as well as thanked the Connecticut Bar Association for the partnership with the Office of the Secretary of the State on working together on civics education, expressing that, "it is the foundation for all of us, for the next generation to understand the importance of the rule of law."

After dinner, video testimonials continued for the signature awards, which were played prior to their award acceptance, adding a personalized touch

to the honor. Signature award presenters included President Monte Frank, President-elect Karen DeMeola, Vice President Jonathan Shapiro, as well as YLS Chair Dana Hrelic who presented the Young Lawyers Section Vanguard Award.

Many awardees thanked more than just their friends and families, including the Tapping Reeve Legal Educator Award winner, Professor Sudha Setty who, among her many thanks included the CBA, sharing, "I'd like to offer a personal note of thanks for the role that the CBA played which they did not know, in me becoming a lawyer in the first place...I participated as a lawyer in the Mock Trial Program in the 1990s, and that galvanized a love of the study of law that has never abated."

Among this year's tremendous slate of stars was Newtown First Selectman E. Patricia Llodra, recipient of the Distinguished Public Service Award. President Monte Frank introduced the first selectman emotively, stating, "Pat is







my client, she's my friend, and she's my hero. When darkness descended upon the town of Newtown, Pat stood up holding the torch, and led us all out of those troubled days." And after a standing ovation from attendees, First Selectman Llodra expressed, "If I have done a good for others, than I say thank you for that opportunity. If I have sacrificed, which I have; if I had to draw and reserve some courage and tenacity, which I have; if I've had to set aside hurts, and manage disappointments, which I have; I say that it is a worthwhile legacy to have made even a small positive difference in the lives of others."

Event attendees welcomed the final awardee of the evening, Justice Richard A. Robinson, to the stage with a standing ovation. Within his thank you remarks, Justice Robinson included all of the lawyers in the room, expressing, "As lawyers, you are the very tailors of the fabric that holds our society together. We are living in interesting and troubling times. There are events occurring now

and on the horizon that will stretch that fabric beyond its tearing point. But as lawyers you, no we, bear the tremendous responsibility of being there when the tears occur."

The evening concluded with dessert and cordial pairings, along with music and dancing. The fourth annual "Celebrate with the Stars" was a resounding success.

## Thank you to our sponsors:

# **Headline Sponsor**

Kronholm Insurance Services

### **Gold Sponsors**

Cohen and Wold PC
Robinson+Cole
Western New England University
School of Law

### **Supporting Sponsors**

Carmody Torrance Sandak & Hennessey LLP Gordon & Rees LLP
New Haven Legal Assistance
Association
South Asian Bar Association
Wolf & Shore LLC CL

### **Photos:**

- 2017 Celebrate with the Stars Signature Award winners. (L to R) Dwight H. Merriam, Louis R. Pepe, Shelley White, Daniel J. Foster, Edward M. Kweskin, Bret Kupfer, E. Patricia Llodra, Eileen Jenetopulous, Shari-Lynn Cuomo Shore, Peter Arakas, Anne Stanback, Sudha Setty, Justice Richard A. Robinson, and Richard W. Callahan.
- 2. Henry J. Naruk Judiciary Award winner Justice Richard A. Robinson.
- 3. Event attendees listening to award winner speeches.

### **Photos:**

- 1. Citizen of the Law Award winner Peter Arakas.
- 2. CBA President Monte E. Frank with Senator Richard Blumenthal.
- YLS Chair Dana Hrelic, YLS Vanguard Award winner Shari-Lynn Cuomo Shore, and CBA Vice President Jonathan M. Shapiro.
- 4. CBA President Monte E, Frank, CBA President-elect Karen DeMeola, Anthony V. DeMayo Pro Bono Award winner Eileen Jenetopulos, and Pro Bono Awards Committee Chair Adam Cohen.
- 5. Secretary of the State Denise Merrill.
- Henry J. Naruk Judiciary Award winner Justice Richard A. Robinson and former Associate Justice Justice Peter T. Zarella.
- 7. Charles J. Parker Legal Services Award winner Shelley White.
- 8. Attendees dancing after the awards ceremony.
- Tapping Reeve Legal Educator Award winner Professor Sudha Setty.
- 10. CBA President-elect Karen DeMeola; Citizen for the Law Award winner Anne Stanback and her wife Charlotte Kinlock; and Jamie Mills, State of Connecticut Senior Advisor for Policy Analysis.
- 11. CBA President Monte E. Frank, CBA President-elect Karen DeMeola, Distinguished Public Service Award winner E. Patricia Llodra, CBA Vice President Jonathan M. Shapiro, and CBA Awards Committee Co-chairs Moy Ogilvie and Bill Prout.























# Awardee



Henry J. Naruk Judiciary Award Justice Richard A. Robinson Connecticut Supreme Court



**Distinguished Public Service Award** E. Patricia Llodra First Selectman of Newtown



**Charles J. Parker Legal Services Award** Shelley White New Haven Legal Assistance



Citizen for the Law Award Anne Stanback LGBT/Civil Rights Activist



Citizen of the Law Award Peter Arakas Attorney at Law



**Edward F. Hennessey Professionalism Award** Louis R. Pepe McElroy Deutsch Mulvaney & Carpenter LLP



**John Eldred Shields Distinguished Professional Service Award** Dwight H. Merriam Robinson+Cole



**Tapping Reeve Legal Educator Award** Sudha Setty Professor of Law, Western New England University School of Law



**Young Lawyers Section Vanguard Award** Shari-Lynn Cuomo Shore Wolf & Shore LLC



The Honorable Anthony V. DeMayo **Pro Bono Award** 



Richard W. Callahan Law Office of Richard W. Callahan



Daniel J. Foster City of Waterbury Corporation Counsel's Office



Eileen Jenetopulos Law Office of Eileen Falsey Jenetopulos LLC



**Bret Kupfer** 



ACCEL Law Group PC



Edward M. Kweskin Wofsey Rosen Kweskin & Kuriansky LLP