CELEBRATING

his bar year marks the installation of the 100th president to serve the Connecticut Bar Association (CBA) since its founding in 1875. The first president of the CBA was Origen S. Seymour, who served on the Connecticut House of Representatives and as a chief justice of the Connecticut Supreme Court. While it is now standard for CBA presidents to hold office for a one-year term, that was not always the tradition. Our first three presidential terms spanned 33 years. It was our fourth president, George D. Watrous, who challenged precedent with a two-year term in 1908. It wasn't until 1946 that the oneyear term became standard, when William B. Gumbart, our 23rd president, served.

The term length wasn't the only change throughout the last 100 presidents—the CBA's current publications were established during two separate presidencies. The first issue of the *Connecticut Bar Journal* was published in 1927 during Terrence F. Carmody's presidency, and *CT Lawyer* was established, in its current form as a magazine, in 1990 during Carolyn P. Kelly's tenure.

Multiple presidents have had the distinction of a CBA award or fund named in their honor. The John Eldred Shields Distinguished Professional Service Award was named for our 56th president; it is presented to a member who has performed outstanding service through or on behalf of the CBA, for the benefit of the legal

- 1. Origen S. Seymour 1875-1882
- 2. Richard D. Hubbard 1882-1885
- 3. Charles E. Perkins 1885-1908
- 4. George D. Watrous 1908-1910
- 5. George E. Hill 1910-1912

- Hadlai A. Hull 1912-1914
 Charles Phelps
- 1914-1916
- William F. Henney 1916-1918
 Charles E. Searls
- 1918-1920
- **10.** A. Heaton Robertson 1920-1922

PRESIDENTS

community and the community at large. Named for our 60th president, the Henry J. Naruk Judiciary Award is presented to members of the state and federal judiciary who have made substantial contributions to the administration of justice in Connecticut. In 2012, the CBA's pro bono award was officially renamed The Honorable Anthony V. DeMayo Pro Bono Award for the association's 46th president and his commitment to delivering legal services to the needy and a lifetime of distinguished service to the bar.

More recently, the Ralph J. Monaco Memorial Civics Education Award and Fund was established to honor the CBA's 87th president, a champion of civics education. The award is presented to Connecticut high school students who have demonstrated a significant commitment to advancing civic engagement, civics education, and/or the rule of law. The Karen Lynn DeMeola Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Fund is named for the CBA's 94th president, a champion of DE&I within the Connecticut legal community. The fund was established by the Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee to support its mission and purposes.

The CBA has a history of esteemed lawyers and judges leading the organization through innumerable changes since its founding. The milestone of the 100th presidency provides us with the opportunity to reflect on our past and to look forward to the next 100 presidents.

- 11. William B. Boardman 1922-1924
- **12.** Lucius F. Robinson 1924-1926
- **13.** Terrence F. Carmody 1926-1928
- 14. Arthur M. Brown 1928-1930
- 15. Harrison Hewitt 1930-1932

- **16.** David S. Day 1932-1934
- **17.** Hugh M. Alcorn 1934-1936
- **18.** Warren B. Burrows 1936-1938
- **19.** Frederick H. Wiggin 1938-1940
- 20. Warren F. Cressy 1940-1942



Celebrating 100 Presidents

- 21. Joseph F. Berry 1942-1944
- 22. William H. Blodgett 1944-1946
- 23. William B. Gumbart 1946-1947
- 24. Charles M. Lyman 1947-1948
- 25. Charles W. Pettingill 1948-1949
- 26. Samuel H. Platcow 1949-1950
- 27. H. Meade Alcorn 1950-1951
- 28. William W. Gager 1951-1952
- 29. David Goldstein 1952-1953
- 30. Herbert S. MacDonald 1953-1954
- 31. Allyn L. Brown, Jr. 1954-1955
- 32. David H. Jacobs 1955-1956
- 33. Lucius F. Robinson, Jr. 1956-1957
- 34. James W. Cooper 1957-1958
- 35. Jonathan F. Ells 1958-1959
- 36. J. Kenneth Bradley 1959-1960
- 37. J. Ronald Regnier 1960-1961
- 38. John Q. Tilson, Jr. 1961-1962
- 39. Leo V. Gaffney 1962-1963
- 40. Walter M. Pickett, Jr. 1963-1964

- 41. Bernard H. Trager 1964-1965
- 42. Joseph P. Cooney 1965-1966
- 43. Richard H. Bowerman 1966-1967
- 44. Arthur M. Lewis 1967-1968
- 45. E. Gaynor Brennan 1968-1969
- 46. Hon. Anthony V. DeMayo 1969-1970
- 47. Norman K. Parsells 1970-1971
- 48. Carl W. Nielsen 1971-1972
- 49. Harry S. Gaucher, Jr. 1972-1973
- 50. James R. Greenfield 1973-1974
- 51. William K. Cole 1974-1975
- 52. Carmine R. Lavieri 1975-1976
- 53. George F. Lowman 1976-1977
- 54. Hon. Peter C. Dorsey 1977-1978
- 55. Frederick U. Conard, Jr. 1978-1979
- 56. John Eldred Shields 1979-1980
- 57. Robert M. McAnerney 1980-1981
- 58. Hon. Maxwell Heiman 1981-1982
- 59. Jack H. Evans 1982-1983
- 60. Henry J. Naruk 1983-1984

- 61. Raymond W. Beckwith 1984-1985
- 62. Ralph Gregory Elliot 1985-1986
- 63. Paul B. Altermatt 1986-1987
- 64. Lawrence M. Liebman 1987-1988
- 65. James F. Stapleton 1988-1989
- 66. Marilyn P. Seichter 1989-1990
- 67. Carolyn P. Kelly 1990-1991
- 68. Susan W. Wolfson 1991-1992
- 69. Hon. Frank H. D'Andrea, Jr. 1992-1993
- 70. John M. Bailey 1993-1994
- 71. Rosemary E. Giuliano 1994-1995
- 72. Brian T. Mahon 1995-1996
- 73. Edward M. Sheehy 1996-1997
- 74. Peter L. Costas 1997-1998
- 75. Frank H. Finch, Jr. 1998-1999
- 76. William F. Gallagher 1999-2000
- 77. Donat C. Marchand 2000-2001
- 78. Barbara J. Collins 2001-2002
- 79. Deborah J. Tedford 2002-2003
- 80. John W. Hogan, Jr. 2003-2004

- 81. Frederic S. Ury 2004-2005
- 82. Louis R. Pepe 2005-2006
- 83. Norman K. Janes 2006-2007
- 84. William H. Prout, Jr. 2007-2008
- 85. Livia DeFilippis Barndollar 2008-2009
- 86. Francis J. Brady 2009-2010
- 87. Ralph J. Monaco 2010-2011
- 88. Keith Bradoc Gallant 2011-2012
- 89. Barry C. Hawkins 2012-2013
- 90. Hon. Kimberly A. Knox 2013-2014
- 91. Mark A. Dubois 2014-2015
- 92. William H. Clendenen, Jr. 2015-2016
- 93. Monte E. Frank 2016-2017
- 94. Hon. Karen DeMeola 2017-2018
- 95. Jonathan M. Shapiro 2018-2019
- 96. Hon. Ndidi N. Moses 2019-2020
- 97. Amy Lin Meyerson 2020-2021
- 98. Hon. Cecil J. Thomas 2021-2022
- 99. Daniel J. Horgan 2022-2023
- 100. Maggie Castinado 2023-2024

LAWYER

Alternativ

Dispute

Re

pluti





Did You Know?

CBA members have access to the digital edition of CT Lawyer magazine online. Download the latest issue to your tablet or phone and read it anywhere you go.

View the most recent issue or explore our archive at ctbar.org/ctlawyer.