About the Award

The award is named in honor of The Honorable Anthony V. DeMayo, who tirelessly fought for fundamental fairness and championed the legal rights of the poor and accused. The award recognizes CBA members who are not salaried employees of a legal aid or similar nonprofit organization. The recipients are selected based on their demonstrated dedication to the provision of legal services without expectation of payment to those in need.


  • Handles matters of significant quantity, complexity, or duration
  • Willing to accept unpopular, unusual, or difficult matters
  • Consistently goes beyond the “call of duty” and inspires others to do the same
  • Has achieved an outcome which made either a significant difference in a client’s life or had a major positive impact beyond the individual matter
  • Displays extraordinary devotion to clinics, projects, or programming which serves the legal needs of the poor
  • Fosters pro bono work by others through mentoring, advocacy, support, or example
  • Otherwise demonstrates outstanding effort, commitment, sacrifice, or accomplishment

Past Recipients

Rosemary Bary
LoRaine J. LaMorte
Wanda N. Negron
Frederick W. Odell
Diane Polan
Meriden Law Firm of Weigand, Mahon & Adleman

Sherwood Anderson
Abram Heisler
Robin Ostlund
James W. Walsh
Penrose Wolf

Honorable F. Herbert Gruendel
Finola M. Harte
Donald R. Hotman
Ira S. Mayo
George A. Reilly

Glenn A. Duhl
Karyl Lee Hall
Robert Kapusta
Peter A. Penczer
JoAnn Riccio
Mark P. Santagata

Peter Arakas
Timothy W. Bingham
Sandra P. Claffey
Diane M. Fitzgerald
Karen P. Malenfant
Joseph K. Venishnick

Nathana Beth Cook
Pamela Elkow
Paul Garlinghouse
John F. Lambert
Sharon Pope

Anne Goldstein
Daniel J. Klaud
Catherine D. Mollica
Alan L. Rosner
Adler Pulda Meiklejohn and Kelly PC

Jonathon E. Blaine
Jon E. Jessen
Elizabeth L. McMahon
Laticia A. Mewborn
Erick M. Sandler
Michael P. Shea

Jana Adams
Patricia N. Blair
L. Morris Glucksman
Amy Haberman
William A. Wenck

Janine M. Becker
Gail A. Bedoukian
Carole Masters
John F. Slane
Ashley M. Van Valkenburgh

Anthony E. Ahern
Allan P. Cramer
Richard D. Harris
Edward J. Heath
Gregory N. Smith

Alaine C. Doolan
Robert C. Hinton
Judith Hoberman
Geoffrey Naab

Sean P. Barrett
Joseph Harry Bartozzi
James O. Craven
Thomas J. Dufour
Peter D. Goselin

James D. Hirschfield
Norman K. Janes
Elizabeth L. McMahon
Michael Smiley
Linda Bulkovitch
Craig Coulombe
Peter R. Knight
Isabella M. Squicciarini

Richard W. Callahan
Daniel J. Foster
Eileen Jenetopulos
Bret Kupfer
Edward M. Kweskin

Michael K. Conway
Thomas J. Farrell
John J. Houlihan, Jr.
Kyle LaBuff

Rebecca L. Ciota
Jennifer L. Hluska
Brittany A. Killian
Jane I. Milas
Stephanie B. Nickse

About Anthony V. DeMayo (1924-2012)

The Honorable Anthony V. DeMayo of East Haven served in the US Army in India during WWII and later went on to earn an undergraduate degree from Yale University and a J.D. from the University of Connecticut School of Law. He practiced privately until 1977 and acted as public defender in New Haven County from 1966 to 1981, until he was appointed to the Superior Court.

He was active in the legal community, his membership including New Haven Junior Bar Association, University of Connecticut Law School Alumni Association and Law School Foundation, Lecturer in Law at the University of New Haven, He also served as the president of the Connecticut Women's Education and Legal Fund and helped pave the way for women to become fully fledged members of the Connecticut legal team.

Judge DeMayo served as president of the Connecticut Bar Association during the 1969-1970 bear year. He was a member of the Board of Governors, Pro Bono Committee, and Awards Committees as well as a CBA Sustaining Member. His commitment to pro bono was honored at the 2012 Annual Meeting when it was announced that the CBA Pro Bono Award was officially renamed The Honorable Anthony V. DeMayo Pro Bono Award. This honor was bestowed for his commitment to delivering legal services to the needy and a lifetime of distinguished service to the bar.

Judge DeMayo was also active in his own community, his involvement including the Foxon Recreation League, Past President of Family Services of New Haven, member of New Haven Philatelic Society, former New Haven Chairman and State Vice-President of the Kidney Foundation, past board member of the New Haven Community Council and Regional Mental Health Planning Council, president of the East Haven Historical Society, East Haven Lions Club, the founder of East Haven Kid's Stamp Club, former parish trustee and council member of the Church of St. Vincent De Paul, and former member of the East Haven Planning and Zoning Commission.

The Anthony V. DeMayo Pro Bono Awards were established in 2014.