Law Day is a national effort, held since 1957, to celebrate the rule of law, providing an opportunity to understand how law and the legal profession protect our liberty, strive to achieve justice, and contribute to the freedoms that all Americans share. Traditionally, the CBA's Civics Education Committee observes Law Day at the Connecticut Appellate Court in Hartford by hosting an event featuring an interactive activity, such as a debate or essay and art contest, for middle and high school students.


If you are interested in volunteering with Law Day, please contact the chair of the Civics Education Committee.

Past Events

  • Past President Ralph J. Monaco Passes Away

    Monday, July 12, 2021

    Attorney Monaco was a dedicated member of the CBA, leading numerous important initiatives, before, during, and after his service as president.
  • Retired Connecticut Appellate Court Judge Michael R. Sheldon presented the keynote speech for Law Day. CBA Celebrates Law Day 2021

    Wednesday, May 12, 2021

    The CBA Civics Education Committee, together with the Greater Danbury, Hartford County, Litchfield County, New Haven County, and Windham County Bar Associations held its annual Law Day celebration virtually over Zoom on May 7, which featured retired Connecticut Appellate Court Judge Michael R. Sheldon as the keynote speaker.
  • More Than 120 People Attend Law Day Event

    Thursday, May 28, 2020

    More than 120 legal professionals and middle and high school students attended the CBA's annual Law Day event.
  • Valli Pendyala reading her poem to the Connecticut Appellate Court judges. CBA Celebrates 2019 Law Day

    Monday, May 6, 2019

    The Connecticut Bar Association's Civics Education Committee held its annual Law Day Celebration on Friday, May 3, 2019 at the Connecticut Appellate Court in Hartford. Students from Timothy Edwards Middle School in South Windsor were joined by Secretary of the State Denise W. Merrill, CBA President Jonathan M. Shapiro, Civics Education Committee Chair Ralph J. Monaco, and committee members Hon. Susan B. Handy, Kathryn A. Calibey, Lawrence F. Morizio, and Jonathan Weiner.