Member Spotlight | 12 CBA Members Nominated to Connecticut Superior Court Bench

Written Tuesday, March 8, 2022

Several CBA members have been nominated by Governor Ned Lamont to fill vacancies as judges on the Connecticut Superior Court; several of those nominated currently hold positions on various CBA committees:

  • Alyce Alfano, Shipman & Goodwin LLP
  • Eric Daniels, Robinson & Cole LLP; Awards Committee (member)
  • Robert G. Golger, Ruzzo & Rizio LLC
  • Wendy Grispin, Grispin & Chan LLC
  • Jassette Ann-Marie Henry, Connecticut Division of Public Defender Services
  • Tara L. Knight, Knight & Cerritelli LLC; Criminal Justice Section Executive Committee (member)
  • Cherie Phoenix-Sharpe, Office of Lt. Governor Susan Bysiewicz; Awards Committee (member); Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion Committee (member); Government and Public Sector Committee (member)
  • Christine P. Rapillo, Connecticut Division of Public Defender Services, Office of Chief Public Defender
  • Charles P. Reed, Loughlin Fitzgerald PC
  • Kevin M. Shay, Connecticut Division of Criminal Justice
  • Neeta Vatti, Quinnipiac University School of Law; Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee (co-chair); Awards Committee (member); and the Long-Range Planning Committee (member)
  • Matthew A. Weiner, Connecticut Division of Criminal Justice, Office of the Chief State’s Attorney; Appellate Advocacy Section Executive Committee (member)

In his press release, Governor Lamont stated, “Our court system works the best when it reflects the diversity, experience, and understanding of the people who live here, These men and women that I’ve selected to become judges not only have the competence, skills, and proficiency to serve the court with integrity, but come from a variety of backgrounds that provide them with the important shared experiences of the people who will come before them. These nominees have the qualifications that meet the high standards the residents of Connecticut deserve on the bench.” The nominations are being forwarded to the Connecticut General Assembly for consideration.