Two CBA Members Recognized with 2022 CLABBY Awards

Written Saturday, June 4, 2022

 CLABBY Award Winners 2022 Thomas J Welsh Patrick W Boatman


Attorneys Patrick W. Boatman and Thomas J. Welsh received CLABBY awards from the Connecticut Bar Association’s Commercial Law and Bankruptcy Section on Thursday, May 31. The CLABBY awards, established in 2016, are presented by the section each year to honor the professional achievements of section members. 

In response to this year's awards, Commercial Law and Bankruptcy Section Chair Roberta Napolitano stated, "To paraphrase Tom’s mentor’s description of our role: 'We are not scribes - we are advisors and counselors at law.  Our job is to improve the world and to improve the profession.' Pat and Tom are not form-fillers churning out rote recitations of static principles. They are true “creatives” in their use and adaptation of legal principles for the benefit of their clients, their profession, and the world." 

Patrick W. Boatman received the 2022 Career Achievement Award for his professionalism and exemplary practice of commercial and bankruptcy law for over 40 years. Attorney Boatman is a founding partner of Glastonbury’s Boatman Law LLC. Prior to practicing law, Boatman served in the United States Coast Guard and as an officer in the U.S. Army.  He attended Boston University School of Law while continuing his military service as a member of the Massachusetts Army National Guard. 

 He was admitted to the Connecticut State Bar in 1979 and the Federal District Court in 1980. Early in his career, at the request of the Hartford’s Bankruptcy Court, Attorney Boatman served as a trustee in two large commercial cases. Over the years, he has continued to vigorously pursue his bankruptcy practice, while treating his clients, adversaries, and colleagues with dignity, good humor, and respect. Previous recipients of the Career Achievement Award are Ira B. Charmoy, Richard M. Coan, Thomas A. Gugliotti, Barbara H. Katz, Bob A. White, and Charles A. Maglieri. 

Thomas J. Welsh received the 2022 Service to the Profession Award for his section leadership, development of educational programs, and delivery of pro bono services. Attorney Welsh is currently of-counsel to Updike Kelly & Spellacy PC, having previously practiced for many years as a principal in the firm of Brown & Welsh PC. Attorney Welsh is a member of the Connecticut Law Revision Commission, where he provided special service as co-chair of the Advisory Committee on the 2010 revisions to Article 9 of the Uniform Commercial Code.  

He is the former chair of the American Bar Association’s Joint Task Force on Alternative Dispute Resolution in Commercial Transactions. Additionally, he is a fellow and former regent of the American College of Commercial Finance Attorneys. Attorney Welsh has served as chair of the CBA Commercial Finance Section and is currently a member of the Commercial Finance, Commercial Law and Bankruptcy, and International Law Section Executive Committees. Previous recipients of the Service to the Profession Award are Elizabeth J. Austin, Jeffrey M. Sklarz, Suzanne B. Sutton, Irve J. Goldman, Thomas A. Gugliotti, and Matthew K. Beatman. 

The Commercial Law and Bankruptcy Section promotes the practice of commercial law and bankruptcy and provides education and updates in the area of creditor/debtor relations in commercial transactions.