CBA Hosts 138th Annual Meeting

Attorneys, judges, paralegals, and other legal professionals from throughout Connecticut gathered on Monday, June 17 at the Connecticut Convention Center in Hartford for the 2013 Annual Meeting. Attendees connected with colleagues and met new friends while finding out about the latest advances in technology and services that could move their practices to the next level.

With the theme of Transforming Your Practice for the Future, this year's event featured more than 30 educational seminars in practice areas such as appellate law, labor and employment law, family law, real property law, environmental law, tax law, sports and entertainment law, and commercial law. There was also an innovatice technology line-up dedicated to providing attendees with practical advice and insight on how to be tech-savvy in order to maximize your efficiency and effectiveness in the practice of law. Moreover, CBA members honored their colleagues and peers with the presentation of annual awards at the Bench-Bar Awards Luncheon, where Governor Dannel P. Malloy delivered remarks, and Connecticut Supreme Court Chief Justice Chase T. Rogers was the keynote speaker. The Annual Dinner featured a number of awards presentations  including the Distinguished Public Service Award to Ralph Nader.

Governor Dannel P. Malloy speaking at the Bench-Bar Awards Luncheon.

Incoming President Kimberly A. Knox, Distinguished Public Service Award Recipient Ralph Nader, and Outgoing President Barry C. Hawkins.

The ABA Congressional Advocacy Award was presented to Congressman Joe Courtney, while the Honorable Paul Knierim was given the Henry J. Naruk Judiciary Award and Elton B. Harvey III is the recipient of the Citizen of the Law Award at the at the Bench-Bar Awards Luncheon. Also during the luncheon, the CBA proudly bestowed pro bono awards upon four attorneys who have diligently represented underprivileged residents throughout the past year. The Honorable Anthony V. Demayo Pro Bono Award winners include Judith Hoberman, Robert C. Hinton, Alaine C. Doolan, and Geoffrey Naab.

At the Annual Dinner, Frederic S. Ury of Ury & Moskow LLC was presented with the John Eldred Shields Distinguished Professional Service Award; Francis J. Brady of Murtha Cullina LLP received the Edward F. Hennessey Professionalism Award; Dean Brad Saxton of Quinnipiac University School of Law was the recipient of the Tapping Reeve Legal Educator Award; and Consumer Protection Advocate Ralph Nader was presented with the Distinguished Public Service Award. The afternoon events included the Presidential Ceremony with the Half-century Awards. The awards went to members of the Bar admitted in 1963 and recognition of judges taking senior or referee status.

New officers for the 2013-2014 Bar Year were sworn in at the Annual Dinner. Kimberly A. Knox of Horton, Shields and Knox PC was installed as the association’s president. Other officers include Mark A. Dubois of Geraghty & Bonnano LLC as President-elect, William H. Clendenen, Jr. of Clendenen & Shea LLC as Vice President, Alexis H. Smith of New Haven Legal Assistance Association, Inc. as Secretary, Jeffrey F. Buebendorf of Brown Jacobson PC as Treasurer, Jonathan M. Shapiro of Shapiro Law Offices PC as Assistant Secretary-Treasurer, and Barry C. Hawkins of Shipman & Goodwin LLP’s as Immediate Past President. 

Watch the Bench-Bar Awards Luncheon on CT-N

Save the Date

2014 Annual Meeting
Monday, June 16, 2014