Capitol Update banner

Check your inbox every Tuesday for your Capitol Update newsletter in
The CBA Docket
during this year's legislative session (January 6 – June 9).

Bill Chapman
Twitter: @CTBarLeg

2021 Legislative Session


We will be publishing our Capitol Update each week throughout the session letting you know what committee hearings and meetings are being held during the week. There are also a number of forums and presentations that may be offered during the upcoming weeks. We keep you informed and will link you to specific committee agenda, when available.


The 2020 legislative session will be a short session.  The session runs from February 5 – May 6 with the same amount of bills as a typical session. The budget passed in 2019 was a two year budget although there will be some financial issues placed on the legislative table.


A weekly video will also be available featuring one of our legislator-attorneys sharing his/her involvement in the legislature.


There has been no change in the caucus’ leadership.

Senate Democrats: Senators Martin Looney (President pro Tempore) and Bob Duff (Majority Leader)
Senate Republicans: Senators Len Fasano (Senate Republican Leader) and Kevin Witkos (Senate Republican Leader Pro Tempore)

House Democrats: Representatives Joe Aresimowicz (Speaker of the House) and Matt Ritter (Majority Leader)
House Republicans: Representatives Themis Klarides (House Republican Leader) and Vincent Candelora (Deputy Leader)


In January, special elections were held to fill vacancies in three districts. In District 151 (Greenwich), Harry Arora was elected to replace Fred Camillo who was recently elected first selectman of Greenwich. In District 132, attorney and CBA member Brian Farnen replaced Brenda Kupchick, who was elected as Norwalk’s top official. And in Colchester, Brian Smith was elected as state representative in District 48 to replace longtime legislator Linda Orange who had recently passed away.


There is parking in the Legislative Office Building (LOB) garage next door to the LOB at 300 Capitol Ave and the State Armory on two levels. There’s no promise that there will be available parking, in which case you can try street parking or go to the garage at 21 Oak St across from the Supreme Court under the Connecticut Education Association (CEA) building. Please use your Google Maps or Waze.

If you think there may be a throng of citizens testifying or protesting, then come a couple of hours earlier or have someone drop you off. Note other meetings the same day.      


Since this is an election year, there will be a number of elected officials deciding that it’s time to retire from the legislature. We will keep you informed as we know who is leaving. Primary caucuses are already scheduled in March. Those stating they will be stepping down so far are: Representatives Art O’Neill (69), Joe Verengia (20), and Rich Smith (108).


Wednesday, April 22, 2020 from 8:00 a.m. - 9:30 a.m.


Public Hearings for the below judges up for reappointment will be on February 10 and 14, 2020.

Superior Court Judges

Judge John F. Blawie
Judge Patrick L. Carroll III (Chief Court Administrator)
Judge Anna M. Ficeto
Judge Donna Nelson Heller
Judge Frank A. Iannotti         
Judge Sybil V. Richards                     
Judge Dan Shaban                              
Judge Kenneth L. Shluger                  
Judge Hillary B. Strackbein           
Judge Mark H. Taylor
Judge Theodore R. Tyma
Judge Elpedio N. Vitale

Superior Court State Referees  

Judge Richard E. Arnold                    
Judge Leland J. Cole-Chu                  
Judge Edward J. Dolan
Judge Paul M. Foti       
Judge Michael Hartmere                    
Judge William Holden
Judge Burton A. Kaplan       
Judge Edward J. Mullarkey
Judge A. Susan Peck             
Judge Kenneth B. Povodator
Judge Thelma A. Santos                  
Judge Michael R. Sheldon              
Judge Elliot N. Solomon