Three Attorneys Recognized with 2020 CLABBY Awards

Written Friday, April 17, 2020

It was recently announced that Attorneys Matthew K. Beatman, John L. Cesaroni, and Charles A. Maglieri were recognized with 2020 CLABBY awards by the Connecticut Bar Association’s Commercial Law and Bankruptcy Section

“Now, more than ever, in these challenging times, our profession appreciates the unflagging commitment of its members to the betterment of the profession and the improvement of the public’s access to quality legal services," said Commercial Law and Bankruptcy Section Chair Thomas J. Sansone. "Our three CLABBY recipients embody all that is good about our legal community, in general, and the Commercial Law & Bankruptcy Section, in particular. I speak on behalf of all of our Section’s members in expressing gratitude to Matt, John, and Charlie for their compassion, caring, and dedication to the ideals we hold so dear.”

Matthew Beatman
  Matthew K. Beatman received the 2020 Service to the Profession Award for his section leadership, development of educational programs, and delivery of pro bono services. Attorney Beatman served as chair of the Commercial Law and Bankruptcy Section from 2010-2012 and is now serving on its executive committee as the chair of the section’s Pro Bono Standing Committee. Additionally, he is currently an executive committee member of the Consumer Law Section as well as a member of the Federal Practice Section. Attorney Beatman is a shareholder and partner at Zeisler & Zeisler PC in Bridgeport. Past receptions of the Service to the Profession Award are Elizabeth J. Austin, Irve J. Goldman, Thomas A. Gugliotti, and Jeffrey M. Sklarz.

  John L. Cesaroni received the 2020 Rising Star Award for his consistent and meaningful participation in section activities and meetings and implementation of section initiatives. Attorney Cesaroni is a frequent volunteer, serves on the section’s executive committee, and is a member of the Section's CLE Standing Committee.  He is also a member of the Litigation and Young Lawyers Sections. Attorney Cesaroni is an associate at Zeisler & Zeisler PC in Bridgeport. Previous recipients of the Rising Star Award are Erin E. Boatman, Joanna M. Kornafel, Patrick R. Linsey, and Paige M. Vaillancourt.

  Charles A. Maglieri received the 2020 Career Achievement Award for his professionalism and exemplary practice of commercial and bankruptcy law for more than 35 years. Attorney Maglieri is a longtime member of the CBA Commercial Law and Bankruptcy Section, participates in CLE programs, and contributes to the section's academic and professional interests. He is a sole practitioner at his firm the Law Offices of Charles A. Maglieri in Bloomfield. Previous recipients of the Career Achievement Award are Ira B. Charmoy, Thomas A. Gugliotti, Barbara H. Katz, and Robert A. White.

The Commercial Law and Bankruptcy Section promotes the practice of commercial law and bankruptcy and provides education and updates in the area of creditor/debtor relations in commercial transactions. The CLABBY awards, established in 2016, are presented by the section each year to honor the professional achievements of section members.