Three CBA Attorneys Recognized with 2021 CLABBY Awards

Written Wednesday, May 12, 2021

Attorneys Richard M. Coan, Taruna Garg, and Suzanne B. Sutton received CLABBY awards from the Connecticut Bar Association’s Commercial Law and Bankruptcy Section on Wednesday, May 5.

“The winners of this year’s CLABBY awards come from large and small firms, are just starting out, or are the ‘deans’ of the bar, but are united by one characteristic—a driving need to do the right thing,” said Commercial Law and Bankruptcy Section Chair Roberta Napolitano. “That need drives them to excel both professionally and morally, and serve as an example to our section and our profession.”

 Richard M. Coan    

Richard M. Coan received the 2021 Career Achievement Award for his professionalism and exemplary practice of commercial and bankruptcy law for more than 35 years. Attorney Coan has served as a Chapter 7 panel trustee for the District of Connecticut since 1986 and has presented on bankruptcy topics at meetings of the Commercial Law and Bankruptcy Section. He is a partner and founding member of Coan Lewendon Gulliver and Miltenberger LLC in New Haven. Previous recipients of the Career Achievement Award are Ira B. Charmoy, Thomas A. Gugliotti, Barbara H. Katz, Bob A. White, and Charles A. Maglieri.

 Taruna Garg    

Taruna Garg received the 2021 Rising Star Award for her consistent and meaningful participation in section activities and meetings, and implementation of section initiatives. Attorney Garg serves on the CBA House of Delegates as the Commercial Law and Bankruptcy Section’s delegate. She presented “Winning! How to Confirm a Contested Chapter 11 Plan” at the 2019 Connecticut Bankruptcy Conference and the “Commercial Law and Bankruptcy: Year in Review” session at the 2018 Connecticut Legal Conference. She is a partner at Murtha Cullina LLP in Stamford. Previous recipients of the Rising Star Award are Patrick R. Linsey, Joanna M. Kornafel, Erin E. Boatman, Paige M. Vaillancourt, and John L. Cesaroni.

 Suzanne Sutton

Suzanne B. Sutton received the 2021 Service to the Profession Award for her section leadership, development of educational programs, and delivery of pro bono services. Attorney Sutton is a member of the Standing Committee on Professional Ethics, the Professional Discipline Section Executive Committee, and the State of the Legal Profession Task Force, and is a past chair of the Professional Discipline Section. She has served as a Chapter 7 Panel Trustee for the District of Connecticut, is an adjunct legal ethics professor at the University of Hartford, and is a justice of the peace in the Town of Orange. She is of counsel at Cohen and Wolf PC in Bridgeport. Previous recipients of the Service to the Profession Award are Elizabeth J. Austin, Jeffrey M. Sklarz, Irve J. Goldman, Thomas A. Gugliotti, and Matthew K. Beatman.

The Commercial Law and Bankruptcy Section promotes the practice of commercial law and bankruptcy and provides education and updates in the area of creditor/debtor relations in commercial transactions. The CLABBY awards, established in 2016, are presented by the section each year to honor the professional achievements of section members.