CBA Hosts Virtual Pro Bono Clinics during 2021 National Celebration of Pro Bono

Written Monday, November 8, 2021

On October 26-28, the CBA Pro Bono Committee, in coordination with Statewide Legal Services of CT, hosted a series of Pro Bono Clinics virtually. The clinics took place as part of the National Celebration of Pro Bono, an initiative that shines a spotlight on the amazing pro bono work by lawyers, paralegals, and law students across the country, which occurred from October 24-30.

During the CBA’s clinics, 25 attorney volunteers met with and assisted a total of 39 clients over Zoom meetings. Prior to the clinic, 30 volunteer law students completed client intake forms and asked follow-up questions to help the attorneys prepare for the meetings and provide the best possible legal advice.

On the days of the clinic, the volunteer attorneys provided free legal guidance to the clients in the areas of family law, landlord/tenant law, immigration law, tax law, consumer law, bankruptcy, employee rights/unemployment, and pardons. 17 law students sat in on the meetings to learn more about the process of providing pro bono services.

“The legal quagmires facing the neediest of our residents have exponentially increased during the Pandemic,” stated CBA President-elect and Pro Bono Committee Chair Daniel J. Horgan. “These free clinics provide a significant way to assist those in need that face serious challenges, such as looming evictions or increasing debt. The CBA will continue to offer these clinics throughout the bar year, creating more opportunities for access to justice in these difficult times.”

Additional opportunities for participating in pro bono work through the CBA include CBA Pro Bono Connect, CT Free Legal Answers, and Lawyers in the Libraries. Learn more at Thank you to all those who volunteered at this important event that supports the public’s access to legal representation.

CBA Members that participated in this fall's clinics include:

Hon. M. Nawaz Wahla, Justin M. Ahern, John H. Aldrich, Paula Bennett, Nicole Bikakis, Joshua Devine, Wendy D. DiChristina, Maria A. Dornfried, Cassandra L. Dulepski, Vasiliki P. Filippakos, Marc T. Finer, Paul Garlinghouse, Theodore W. Heiser, Abram Heisler, Isis M. Irizarry, Maurice Maitland, Dennis P. McMahon, Hilary B. Miller, David M. Moore, Julie A. Moscato, Basam Nabulsi, Deborah Noonan, Erin O’Neil-Baker, Ashley E. Palma, and Sarah Poriss.